The Kings House was named after a wealthy merchant called Robert King and is now a welcoming English country inn of the finest tradition. The closely spaced timbering was used to denote that the householder was wealthy, but in fact used so much timber that it was made illegal. Built in the latter part of the 15th and early 16th Centuries it was one of the first village buildings not to be constructed of one open hall and had two stories from the beginning. There are many features which we will be happy to point out that typify the building techniques of the time. It is a testimony to the craftsmans' skills that this glorious building is still untouched by modern materials nearly 600 years on. We still find it a sobering thought that we live in a house that was built some years before Henry V111 was born!!
Pembridge was originally called Penebruge - "bridge by the pens or enclosures" The village dates back to before the Domesday book. The village has existed here for over 1000 years. At one during it's time the village was bigger than Leominster in size and was very important place for trade during the mediaeval period. After the Industrial Revolution, the village was not so popular with trade and was left alone to continue its rural traditions in relative peace and, as a consequence, much of its village character remained unspoiled today
The Church in Pembridge has a unique seperate bell tower.